Director of the CRI

Sean J. Morrison is the director of the Children’s Medical Center Research Institute (CRI) at UT Southwestern and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He holds the Mary McDermott Cook Chair in Pediatric Genetics and the Kathryne and Gene Bishop Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Research. Dr. Morrison completed a B.Sc. in biology and chemistry at Dalhousie University (1991), a Ph.D. in immunology at Stanford University (1996), and a postdoctoral fellowship in neurobiology at Caltech (1999). From 1999 to 2011, Dr. Morrison was a professor at the University of Michigan, where he directed their Center for Stem Cell Biology. His laboratory studies the mechanisms that regulate stem cell function in adult tissues and the ways in which those mechanisms get hijacked by cancer cells to enable tumor formation.

Among other awards, Dr. Morrison received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2003), a MERIT Award from the National Institute on Aging (2009), and was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (2018). Dr. Morrison served as the President of the International Society for Stem Cell Research (2015-2016) and has been active in public policy issues surrounding stem cell research, testifying before the U.S. Congress, and serving as a leader in the successful “Proposal 2” campaign to protect and regulate stem cell research in Michigan’s state constitution.

Board Of Directors

Scientific Advisory Boards


Board of Directors
Christopher J. Durovich

President and Chief Executive Officer, Children’s Health

Robert A. Chereck
Executive Chairman, Southwest Securities, FSB
Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.
President, UTSW Medical Center
Steve Gruber
Chairman of the Board, Children’s Medical Center Foundation and Partner at Blumenthal & Gruber
Julio Perez-Fontan, M.D.
Physician-in-Chief, Children’s Medical Center of Dallas
David W. Biegler

Chairman, Southcross Energy Partners

Arnim E. Dontes
Executive Vice President for Business Affairs, UTSW Medical Center
David Russell, Ph.D.
Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research, UTSW Medical Center
Sean Morrison, Ph.D.
Director, Children’s Research Institute
W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D.
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, and Dean of UT Southwestern Medical School
 Scientific Advisory Boards 
Michael Brown, M.D.
Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine, UTSW Medical Center; Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1985
Eric N. Olson, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Molecular Biology UTSW Medical Center; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Julio Perez-Fontan, M.D.
Physician-in-Chief, Children’s Medical Center; Robert L. Moore Chair, Pediatrics, UTSW Medical Center
Helen H. Hobbs, M.D.
Chief, Division of Medical Genetics UTSW Medical Center; Member, National Academy of Sciences
David Russell, Ph.D.
Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research UTSW Medical Center; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Stuart H. Orkin, M.D.
Chair, Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Charles L. Sawyers, M.D.
Chair, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Gail Mandel, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist, Vollum Institute at Oregon Health and Science University; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Owen N. Witte, M.D.
Director, Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research; Member, National Academy of Sciences
Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.
Meyer Director and Professor of Cancer Biology, Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center, Weill Cornell Medicine

Teresa Hui, M.B.A., M.S.

CRI Operations

Katie Regan, M.A.

Science Communications

Laura Clarke

Procurement and Faculty Support

Misti Wheat

Office of the Director

Nick Ng

Grants Management Support

Adiba Mobin

Faculty Support

Teeaira O. Collins

Faculty Support